The Year That Surprised Me

As I say goodbye to my 50th year and hello to the 51st, I am pondering.

I have to admit, I dreaded turning 50. I don’t know why. Perhaps because it is such a significant number. Age and turning a certain number have never bothered me – ever! But this one did.

For years and years I have said that I am only 24. It has become one of those things that everyone who knows me, knows ABOUT me…my love for purple and the fact that I’m only 24. My 24th was a very good year and I’ve not felt a day older than that since. Having said I am 24 for so many years, when I was asked my age for forms or such, I’d have to count and do the math on my fingers. I never kept up with it. Yet 50 is easy to remember.

As I approached my 50th birthday last December, I was in somewhat of a “funk”. That’s the best way I know how to describe what I was going through. I couldn’t put my finger on it exactly. My son had just moved from Texas to Chicago where he will spend the next who-knows-how-many-years at grad school. I was overweight and out of shape with a sense of hopelessness that I could never change, after attempting several times and hitting a wall each time. I didn’t want to do anything or go anywhere. Just sort of blah! Turning the big 5-0 number only added to it.

But let’s fast-forward a year…

Some very surprising things happened in my 50th year that I will never forget! Besides the fact of seeing my childhood love, Donny Osmond (yes, and his sister) live in the flesh, I also had the opportunity to see three of their brothers in a show several months later. Something I only dreamed of as a child…seeing Donny (and the others) in a live performance.IMG_5594IMG_5593IMG_8961

 In addition, I was very blessed and honored to have several of my photos selected to be a part of the decor in a new hospital located in Waxahachie, Texas (Baylor, Scott and White Medical Center.) After submitting a number of images to be considered at the beginning of the year, I was recently notified that six had been chosen. That was quite a surprise!


But the biggest surprise of all was the physical change that happened to both myself and my Sweet Hubby during the past year. We both dropped numerous pounds and sizes within the year. We both feel better, younger and are each in the best shape of our lives. Even when I was actually 24 years old, I wasn’t this healthy and physically fit. I have high expectations for our future together. I’m so thankful that he decided to do this life-changing new lifestyle with me so that we both can look forward to not only the coming year, but the decades ahead.

A great lesson was learned in the past year: Never presume, take one day at a time, make each day the best and NEVER DREAD!

Although I was not looking forward to the year, it ended up being one of my favorites, one of the best so far and was without doubt

…the year that surprised me!

IMG_9031-Edit

Comments make me happy!

