One Month Later – What I’ve Learned

It has been exactly one month today from when I hit my ultimate weight loss goal of 80 pounds gone. 

Here is a short list of the top things I’ve learned while being on forever-maintenance for the past month:

  • Learning what you need to consume and burn for maintenance takes a little while to determine. You don’t just wake up the next day and know exactly what you need. It’s a learning process.
  • I count calories burned and consumed exactly the same as I did while losing – only my calorie intake has gone up and calories burned as gone down.
  • Maintaining is challenging! Eating more calories in order to maintain, while eating the same healthy foods, is not easy. As a matter of fact, it’s hard to get in all that I need within a day. When I do, I’m stuffed at the end of the day.
  • There’s been no temptation to go back to the old foods and for that I am thankful.
  • For some who achieve the maintenance level, the mindset is too easy to be, “I’ve arrived, so now I can go back to eating sweets and grains” and has been my mindset in past. My mindset now is, “I’m more DETERMINED than ever to NEVER go back!”
  • While I never paid attention to calories I burned through exercise while losing, I have to pay attention to them (and eat them) while working to maintain.
  • Stress is not only a problem when losing that can cause a gain, but also while maintaining and can cause continual loss. It’s easy during stressful periods to continue to lose even while eating all the necessary calories. (Never thought I’d EVER say I’d have a problem working to not lose!)
  • My body knows where it needs to be as I’ve hit the exact same number on the scale (to the tenth) most days of the month. It might go up or down a few tenths, but it always ends back at that exact number (regardless if I go over a little on my calories or come in a little short.)
  • Exercise is VERY important, only now it’s not about weight-loss, but health. I still alternate cardio with strength training every other day. It’s important to keep the muscle mass as to not go flabby.
  • I’m convinced more than ever that, “Nothing tastes as good as thin feels” and I will make sure I never go the other way on the scale!

I love my new lifestyle and feel better than I ever have – happy, healthy and whole!

2 thoughts on “One Month Later – What I’ve Learned

Comments make me happy!

