The Secret to My Success

…is no secret at all!

For those who’ve missed the last couple of posts, this past Saturday marked the day that I met my weight-loss goal. (I’d suggest you read THIS and then THIS if you missed them.) One day early of an exact six month period, I met my goal of losing 70 pounds. I shared this accomplishment on social media and as a result, a number of people have contacted me wanting to know what my secret is. I’ve decided to share on this forum how I met my goal and things you can do to reach yours. As I’ve said numerous times, “If I can do it, anyone can!”

(If interested in going back three months ago to where I first shared what I was doing and why, click HERE.) 

WHAT

What you must have to accomplish anything in life is what I have referred to for years as the 3 Keys to Success: Commitment, Consistency and Perseverance. Without Commitment, you might as well hang it up now. This part is mental and is accomplished by making the choice and decision to make changes to produce results. Consistency is what creates momentum and forms good habits. Perseverance, well, there are times that the only way you will continue is to push through and persevere.

WHY

One of the most important things that must happen before anything else is to have a desire to make a change. Without that, you won’t succeed. Now, how do you get that desire? By discovering your Weight Loss Whys! WHY do you want to lose weight? What will you accomplish as a result? You must know why you want it and what you’ll have as a result of the loss to help you create the vision. You must have a vision of your destination in order to make a plan for the journey. IT’S A MUST! This will be your motivation at those times when discouragement or disappointments (or temptations) come. And they will come!

HOW

Next, it’s important to have a support system. This can be anyone who will encourage, support and cheer you on. I was blessed to have not only great friends and family (those few who knew in the beginning what I was doing), but also two others who were creating a new lifestyle with me. Having others who were going through this transformation at the same time made it so much more fun and it was nice to have others who could understand what I was going through. My hubby made the decision to make the same changes and as a result: he dropped 60 plus pounds, is in the best shape of his life and is actually younger! My girlfriend who has been by my side the entire time doing the same things had a set back with a back injury, but she is still SO CLOSE to her goal and will be there very, very soon! Support systems are of great benefit and I encourage you to set yours up. Whether it’s someone doing it with you or just cheering you on!

THE PLAN in a Nutshell (The most exciting thing about this plan is it is all natural and does not involve any pills, shots, drinks, powders, surgery, prepackaged meals, monthly or weekly meetings – spending money on things outside of food.)

I’m thankful for the wisdom and knowledge of a great man who shared his wisdom and knowledge with us on exactly what to do and the benefits. There was also a good bit of research that I did to educate myself even more and to back up the suggestions that were given. As they say, “The proof is in the pudding.”

To start, we did an overnight cleanse. The purpose of the cleanse is to pull out all the built up sludge and candida in the intestines, to detox and to allow maximum absorption of nutrients that will be consumed. (*Note: we continue to cleanse every 4 weeks for the same reasons stated above.)

The first three days following the cleanse we did a Soup Fast of a delicious soup made with chicken and non-starchy vegetables. This was consumed for breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, basically any time there was hunger. Nothing else for those three days but soup and water, water, water (and herbal tea if desired.) The purpose of the Soup Fast for this period is to put nutrients back into your system in mostly liquid form for easy digestion and it also causes the stomach to shrink so that when the new food plan is introduced, it doesn’t take as much food to satisfy and fill you up. (I will admit – although the soup tastes very good, after three days you may never want it again and thankfully it’s never a part of the plan again.)

Following the three-day Soup Fast, we consumed our “new” food lifestyle and added exercise. (If you’ve not been exercising, start slow and build up. You want to gradually increase your duration, distance, etc. We started with walking and then added long distant walking, hiking and strength training.)

Foods to Consume: (This is a great time to switch to organic if you haven’t already and avoid GMOs. There really is benefit in organic foods and despite what you may be assuming, your grocery bill will not go up. As a matter of fact, ours went WAY DOWN! You have to figure, you are no longer purchasing junk foods, packaged, boxed and processed foods and eating out is cut down tremendously. If you can set yourself to consume at least 75-80% organics, that is a great goal. After detoxing the last thing you want to do is put toxins back in your body.)

  • Non-starchy vegetables
  • Fruits (limited to two servings a day due to natural sugars. Because bananas are very high in sugar, limit these to ½ once a week)
  • Lean meats – grass-fed beef, pasture raised chicken, turkey, wild-caught fish (except catfish), etc. (I personally avoid pork. If you do a little research, you will want to avoid it, too.)
  • Eggs, egg whites
  • Good fats in moderation – olive oil, coconut oil, avocado, olives, etc.
  • Dairy in moderation – raw milk is best but not necessary, organic yogurt, white cheeses, etc.
  • WATER WATER WATER
  • Any seasonings including garlic, minced onion, lemon or lime juice, etc. (Lemon or lime juice is encouraged to use on foods as it helps the body to absorb nutrients. Putting lemon or lime juice in water tells the body there are nutrients in it to be absorbed.)

All of the above foods contain 100% nutrients. These foods contain live calories as opposed to dead calories found in processed and packaged foods. I find that now when going to the grocery store, 95% or more of our items go in the refrigerator.

Foods to Avoid:

  • All processed and packaged foods. (A general rule of thumb – if it contains more than one ingredient, it’s processed.)
  • All starches
  • Breads (enriched, whole, sprouted, all types)
  • Any and all grains in any form (crackers, chips, rice, cereals, etc.)
  • Starchy vegetables such as corn and potatoes
  • Beans (these are added in moderation later)
  • Nuts (these are added in moderation later)
  • Any and all foods containing added sugar including juices
  • Sugars, sugar substitutes, all forms of sweeteners including honey, agave, maple, etc. (If sweetener is needed, Stevia is okay in moderation.)

All of the above foods break down to glucose (blood sugar) and an excess will cause your body to increase the storage of fat.

Cooking:

I am one who has never enjoyed cooking, but this has been so easy. Most everything is cooked stove-top using a little coconut oil to sauté. The faster foods cook, the more nutrients are retained.

Get creative with using veggies to make alternatives. Believe it or not, the best pizza crust is made with cauliflower. Cauliflower and/or yellow squash can be made into delicious “flats” to use for taco shells or even sandwiches. (You can find a few recipes on my site by doing a search in the search bar at the bottom of the page.)

Calories:

Sweet Hubby and I are both committed to counting calories. This I believe, has been a HUGE part of our success! With technology it’s so much easier than it was years ago to count calories and now it’s actually fun. We have found (after experimenting with different sites and apps) that MyFitnessPal app and website (www.myfitnesspal.com) is a tremendous tool in helping us stay on track. We also use Runkeeper app and website (www.runkeeper.com) to track exercise that can be synced with MyFitnessPal.

Exercise:

Do something! Move, walk, get in a routine and push through even when you don’t feel like it. I’ve created such a habit of exercising that it’s now like brushing my teeth – I just do it. Yes there are days that I don’t feel like it, but I go back to my Weight Loss Whys and they help motivate me to persevere. And do you know what always happens? I always feel so much better after and thankful I pushed through and just did it!

Personally, I started with walking and rebounding. I added strength training in around the end of month two and now consistently alternate between days of cardio workouts (using HIIT) and strength training. When I added strength training to my routine is when I really began to notice the inches fall. But what is most important is to do something! Some type of physical activity done on a consistent routine is what is important. Find something you enjoy or can learn to enjoy!

All of the above information is the basis of what we have done and are continuing to do. There are more details I can share if you are interested, just let me know.

SIDE NOTE: I was reluctant to commit to giving up the items I was addicted to. However with the process of the cleanse, the soup fast and consuming so much nutrition in the foods we eat, my cravings have completely changed. I now crave an orange (for my dessert) every evening and it has never tasted so sweet. I lost all cravings for the things I was addicted to and am SO SATISFIED with the foods I consume that I have no need for any of those other things.

The results speak for themselves.

60 plus pounds lost, accomplished in 4 months!

70 pounds lost, accomplished in six months!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is it worth it? ABSOLUTELY!

There is truth in the phrase, “Nothing tastes as good as thin (and healthy) feels!”

So now you know the secret to my success! As I said, there’s no secret at all!

3 thoughts on “The Secret to My Success

Comments make me happy!

