Where There is Vision, There is Hope! Before and After: 70 Pounds Lighter

As I shared the other day, after six short months, my weight loss goal has been met. 

Don’t get me wrong, I still have work to do…continual toning plus I want to drop a few more pounds to have some wiggle-room. I’ll forever be living this new lifestyle (gladly and happily)…however, my goal to drop 70 pounds has been accomplished!

For the first time in my life, I FINALLY know what it means to, “Eat to live – not live to eat!”

In the future I will post more on the details of WHY this change happened and HOW, but for now I want to show a few before and after photos.

Since my post on meeting my goal, a number of people have reached out to me to congratulate me on the accomplishment. For that I am beyond grateful! But more importantly are the handful that have been in contact to let me know that my changes have inspired them to make changes, too. Now THAT is what it’s all about and the reason I make this public. There’s no greater compliment than to have someone else want to mimic me in this area of life. It brings me to tears to know that their lives will be changed forever, just as mine. To live happier, healthier, more fulfilled lives is the REAL goal!

Before I show you the photos from the past year and where I was when I started six months ago, let me show you a couple from where I was 11 years ago, at my largest. It is quite embarrassing to show these, but it’s important to see just how big a difference there is from a decade. I know many (and I, too, felt this way at one time) who think they are beyond being able to find that person that is buried inside of them. That is simply a lie of the devil! It is NEVER too late to make changes that will last a lifetime and ones that can make that lifetime an even longer period.

(I am always a little uncomfortable sharing photos of myself. I am much more comfortable being behind that camera as opposed to in front of it. With that said, if showing these will help even one person by encouraging them that they, too, can make a change – well, then it’s worth it to me!)

Photos from around 2002/2003:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After losing weight, maintaining that loss for a few years then gradually putting weight back on, I ended up back at the place of personal disgust by March of this year. That is when changes took place that will last a lifetime.

How do I know this when I have lost before only to gain weight again? Because this time I have for the first time REALLY created a lifestyle that is easy, healthy and makes it possible to live this way for the rest of my years. As was mentioned above, learning the difference of eating to live as opposed to living to eat makes all the difference. The addictions are gone!

Where I was just six short months ago – 70 pounds heavier than I currently am: 

 

 

Having met the goal two days ago, my hubby took the following images to represent where I currently am…70 pounds lighter! 

    

 

 

CREATING THE VISION

There is significance in the above photo and it is very special to me! Let me explain:

When I lost weight ten years ago, I had purchased a pair of pants that were EXTREMELY too small for me in hopes of getting into them. I never made it and never even cut the tags off those pants.

In April of this year, about a month into my new lifestyle, I dug deep into my storage closet to bring out a bag of clothes I had saved in hopes of finding some items to wear as I began to drop inches. When going through the stacks, that pair of pants surfaced – tags and all. I held them up and laughed as I showed them to my Sweet Hubby. I said, “These are T-I-N-Y and if I am ever able to fit into them, I will then know I have truly lost!” I took those pants – tags and all – and tried them on to see just how far I could get them up, with him as my witness. They made it slightly above my ankles, no joke! I hung those pants in my closet for the purpose of giving me a vision and a goal. Every few weeks I would try them on and every few weeks they would move up higher and higher until they finally made it up around my hips.

The shirt is one that came back with my hubby when he returned from Peru at the end of May. When I held up the shirt after he presented it to me, I kindly thanked him while laughing and informing him that he accidentally brought me a child’s shirt. I tried it on to prove to him and sure enough, the shirt squeezed over my chest and fit like a child’s size tee-shirt. He was insistent that he was absolutely sure it was a woman’s shirt and asked that I put in my drawer for later. To appease him, I did, all while laughing inside thinking he for certain was mistaken.

Today when looking for something to try on for the “after” photos, I pulled out both the pants and the shirt – lo and behold they both fit! 

If you learn nothing else from my testimony, please learn this…Where there is vision, there is ALWAYS hope! And if I can do it, so can YOU!

The After – 70 Pounds Lighter! 

And then God answered: “Write this.
    Write what you see.
Write it out in big block letters
    so that it can be read on the run.
This vision-message is a witness
    pointing to what’s coming.
It aches for the coming—it can hardly wait!
    And it doesn’t lie.
If it seems slow in coming, wait.
    It’s on its way. It will come right on time.

Habakkuk 2:2-3 The Message

9 thoughts on “Where There is Vision, There is Hope! Before and After: 70 Pounds Lighter

  1. Debbie, Amazing, This is Tom Lester. I don’t know if you remember me. But you are amazing. Loosing 70#s in 6 months. And now continuing. It nothing short of drive and determination. I see that in you photography talent. 70#s is the number I hope I can do. I wish I had the discipline with my travel schedule. Wow, I’m already setting myself up for failure. Thank you for sharing and showing me it can be done. Congratulations. OK it’s 70#’s for me by April 1st. Mark your calendar. 3 # a week. Good job and God bless you for sharing your talents in photography and in life.

    Like

    1. Hey Tom! Yes, of course I remember you! Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement. I’m marking my calendar – I KNOW you can do it! My husband also lost over 60 pounds and he travels consistently, so it is most definitely possible. I’ll be looking for your comment that you did it next spring. Or better yet, maybe we will make a trip to Jefferson so I can see for myself. 😀 Thanks Tom!

      Like

  2. I saw one of my friends in my news feed on Instagram like your picture you posted of your before and after picture. I then went to your page and saw you had a blog. After reading your blog I’m so inspired to get healthy! I have been overweight all my life, except for a short time (about a year) when I got down to my goal weight 15 years ago. The Lord has been dealing with me for several years regarding my eating habits. I am so addicted to food and need to break that addiction in my life. Thank you for sharing your story! It has motivated and inspired me!

    Like

    1. Oh Tanya – this thrills me! I am telling you, you CAN do it and it is very possible to accomplish your goal and break that addiction. I am planning to post more details on what I did in the next day or two, so be watching. God bless and keep me posted on your success!

      Like

Comments make me happy!

