Coming Out of the Closet

No, not what you think based on today’s translation of that phrase.

I’m coming out to share something I’ve not been ready to put out to the public and it’s something very personal. So why am I sharing it now? With the hope that someone else can benefit from what I have to tell.

Three months ago a very special friend had a divine appointment with a very special man who I’ve heard of for many years but had not met. He is an educated nutritionist and trainer. That appointment was not intended, yet it was not an accident – thus a DIVINE intervention of God. My friend happened to have been in the same boat as me…disgusted with having gained weight, feeling miserable due to the extra pounds, no energy, feeling blah and ready to do something about it – and happened to be in the presence of this man for a few hours. After hearing about the changes she would need to make, she knew it was time! And then she shared it with me – and for that I’m eternally grateful.

We decided to make the changes together and as an added bonus, our husbands did, too! Sweet Hubby and I as a couple along with all four of us as a team, helps tremendously to make the efforts and changes more fun, rewarding and practical. This change is a lifestyle change and one that I have no doubt will continue with us for a lifetime. It’s not a diet. Everyone tries to categorize it, put a label on it and file it under the latest fad. But no, this is a plan that is easy to follow because it is the way we should eat.

I will not go into all of the details right now, but know it means eating clean. We aim for about 80% organic produce, grass-fed beef, free range and organic poultry, etc. We consume NO processed foods, no starches of any kind (which means no grains, rice, potatoes and limited beans) and no added sugars. Instead we consume a great amount of vegetables, some fruit, dairy, good and healthy fats and plenty of meat. We are so satisfied with our meals and with the addition of exercise, we have seen great results.

Instead of going into all of the details, I want to focus on what my inspiration was to make a change and to share a quite embarrassing photo and story. (See photo below and for the record, I was heavier than that just three months ago. Like I said, embarrassing!)

On the trail to Balanced Rock

Last summer when Son was home after graduating from the University of Texas at Austin, we made a trip to Big Bend National Park (you can read about it here.) On that trip in the middle of the hottest time of the year to visit the desert, we decided to hike to a natural monument called Balanced Rock. I had planned our route to and from Big Bend and then I asked the men to decide what we would do for the days we were visiting the park. One of the first things they said was to hike to Balanced Rock. That was the day that I had a revelation and was the beginning of a change.

The revelation I had: if I didn’t make changes now, I would not be able to do the fun things with my family in the future. I was so out of shape, so overweight and absolutely miserable doing something that should have been a joy and fun. It was 100 plus degrees out on the trail and carrying around so much extra weight made it almost unbearable. I came close to not reaching the top. It was a short hike but then a very steep climb. We had just reached the start of the incline and I stopped with heart racing, sweat dripping and breathing very heavy to announce that I could not go on. After encouragement (and patience) from both of my men, I made the attempt – and made it. At the top of that peak I vowed that I would come home and make changes to better my health and life. The three of us had not been to this park is twenty-something years and I wanted to come back again with them even if it wasn’t for another twenty-something years!

Family photo from the day of our hike and my revelation!

Family photo from the day of our hike and my revelation!

As soon as we returned, I joined the gym and began making minor adjustments in my diet. I lost a little weight, but shortly after something happened that I had NEVER experienced before in my life. I slipped into somewhat of a funk. It’s the closest thing I had ever experienced to what could be considered depression. For the next several months I didn’t want to do anything, go anywhere – just stay in the comfort of my home. I would go to the gym on occasion, but my eating habits slipped back. I, to this day, don’t know what happened except that it was NOT of God! My son had moved away 1000 miles to attend grad school, we had the coldest winter in years with many days of ice, reality had hit with the fact of my 50th birthday approaching (even after years of confessing my age as 24 – ha!) That funk continued even after the holidays which consisted of consuming yummy, fattening foods.

Late February I recall telling my friend,“I am so wishy-washy! Some days I am so determined to change my eating habits and lifestyle and other days I just don’t care!” A couple of weeks later, my wishy-washyness was gone! Changes have been made and again, I’m so thankful!

I’ve preached for years the three keys to success in anything: commitment, consistency and perseverance. That is so very true! I am committed like never before. I’ve been 100% consistent in making right choices and have not splurged (or what some call, “cheat”) not even once. Perseverance just happens to fall in line, too, although there’s been no challenge or struggle. I’m completely satisfied and do not miss any of the things I’m not eating. That alone is a miracle, let me tell you!

What began last summer with the revelation of much-needed change, is coming to fruition this summer. My point? Make up your mind and do it! If I can, so can you! If you don’t start now, where will you be in three months?

I began on March 7th and today is June 7th. In exactly three months I’ve lost exactly 40 pounds (as of this morning) by consuming foods that contain 100% nutrients and exercising on a regular basis.

I still have a little more than 20 to reach my goal and at that time will share an “after” photo. I expect to be there by the 1st of August. And then my plan? To continue with the new lifestyle for the rest of my life. It will be no problem because I’m so satisfied and enjoy the foods we eat. I can honestly say for the first time in my 50 years (wait! I mean 24!!) that I KNOW and UNDERSTAND what it means to “Eating to Live instead of Living to Eat.”

If you are in the same boat I was in (knowing you NEED to make changes, but having a hard time getting started), let me encourage you with this…start with the three keys to success:

Commitment: Make the commitment to yourself and share it with someone to help support you and hold you accountable.

Consistency: Remain consistent in what you are committed to doing. Develop patterns and habits of change that will become your new way of life.

Perseverance: When temptations come to fall back to old habits, your commitment to the new needs to be stronger than the temptation. When you persevere in each step, you will feel accomplished and that alone can motivate you for more.

To help you with your commitment I’d suggest that you create a list of Weight Loss Whys. This list should consist of the reasons you want and need to make changes. If you know the WHY, then doing the WHAT will come much easier.

I can’t express how thankful I am to my friend for sharing with me what she was about to begin three months ago and how thankful I am to the very special man who has so graciously poured himself into helping us succeed in creating this new lifestyle. My thankfulness to God for giving me strength can’t go unspoken either.

So, yes, it’s time!

I’m coming out of the closet and thankful that new, smaller clothes will now be going in! 

“From the end of the earth I will cry to You, When my heart is overwhelmed; Lead me to the rock
…that is higher than I.” Psalm 61:2
7 thoughts on “Coming Out of the Closet

  1. Congratulations, Debbi, on the changes you are making and your success. I recently found out I have arthritis in my left hip and right knee and my doctor is recommending a hip and partial knee replacement. I never was overweight; arthritis just runs in my family. However, extra weight is hard on the joints and that is another reason I’d like to add as a reason to lose weight. You will probably be a grandmother some day and want to keep your joints healthy to be able to play with little ones. Looking forward to seeing the after image.

    Like

    1. Thanks P! My grandmother had arthritis from a young age and I’m blessed to not have those issues. However, carrying around the extra weight is hard on everything even without arthritis. Yes, another reason to get it off for good! Hope you have an exciting summer! Blessings ~ D

      Like

Comments make me happy!

