I’m in Love

…with cauliflower! 

In my new eating lifestyle (which I LOVE by the way) I’ve developed a relationship with a vegetable that I’ve never really cared much for before. 

That big, white head of smelly stuff. I’ve eaten plenty of it in my life, but not like lately.

My Foodie-Friend, Lisa, recently sent me a recipe for cauliflower pizza crust. She and her hubby just raved about how wonderful it is. So we tried it and they were absolutely right! I honestly don’t care if I ever have regular pizza crust again! Yes, it was that good!

Then today she sent me a link for another recipe using the white stuff to make wraps. It is a wonderful recipe that can be found here.

I had some leftover cooked ground turkey from last night’s dinner and had thought about making tacos for tonight (using lettuce as shells.) When I saw the wraps, I went looking for a recipe for cauliflower taco shells. I didn’t dig too deep, but what I discovered for most of the recipes I DID find, they were very similar to the wraps. So I decided to go ahead and give them a try. Here is where my recipe takes on a twist and produced my new favorite taco shells.

(Please be kind. I am not typically a blogger who posts recipes so I have no step by step photos. AND even though I am a photographer, my photos are snapshots with my iPhone. Again, be kind.) 

I created the recipe (for the most part) like Lauren’s of Empowered Sustenance

I used: 

  • 4 cups of riced cauliflower (cauliflower that has been processed or grated to the consistency of rice)
  • Steam the riced cauli in about ¼ c of water until good and tender.
  • After done, allow to cool a bit then dump into a strainer covered by a towel (such as flour sack type). Then twist the towel around the cauli and squeeze, squeeze, squeeze to get all of the water out. You will notice you have a small ball when done. (reduces the mixture to about 3 cups of cooked riced cauli.)
  • Put the ball of cauli in a bowl and add two eggs and season with whatever seasonings you’d like.
  • Now, here’s the main difference: take a small yellow squash and grate it with a fine grater. Put that clump of squash in the towel and squeeze, squeeze, squeeze again. Now add it to the bowl of cauli and eggs.
  • Mix it with a fork to get it blended well.
  • Place parchment paper on two cookie sheets and spray lightly with olive oil.
  • Put a large spoonful (or two) of batter on the sheets to make a round. (I could get three on one sheet and two on another – makes a total of five rounds). Then take a smaller piece of paper and use it to flatten the batter to about ⅛” in thickness and 5 to 6 inches in diameter. Use the spoon to push the edges to make a circle.

Bake for 15 minutes in a preheated 375º oven. Then take out of the oven and using another piece of parchment paper, cover the rounds. Using a cooling rack or another cookie sheet, flip them over and then put then back in the oven for about 5 more minutes.

Once a slight golden color, check to make sure they can be lifted off the paper and place onto cooling racks.

I made these earlier in the day and wrapped in plastic wrap until dinner time. I then lightly sprayed my skillet and heated them, flipping a couple of times to give a little more color to them. With this method, I’m convinced they can be made ahead of time and kept in the fridge or even frozen.

The little bit of squash in the batter gave them a slight corn flavor, which makes it perfect for me as taco shells.

Best tacos ever! 

Here are my snapshots from our dinner tonight:

IMG_7005 IMG_7006 IMG_7007 IMG_7008 IMG_7009

(Note: These are about the texture of pita bread and the squash makes them quite sturdy. They would be great as a bread substitute for sandwiches or burgers. Yum!)

6 thoughts on “I’m in Love

Comments make me happy!

