Is Organization Preventing You From Starting…?|Scan Your Entire Life

I confess.

The last few days of sharing articles on scanning images, is to share with you some interesting information that you may find beneficial. However, I’m using this as an easy way for me to refer back to these articles as I need them. Seeing I am about to undertake this giant mountain of a task, I need all the help I can get.

The first paragraph alone of the following article explains what I’ve felt for the last several years. I can completely relate to what he is saying. The time has now come to stop thinking about it, and just do it!

IMG_5997

The following article is an excellence source for help in getting started and organizing photos for scanning. In fact, the entire site is dedicated to that topic and worth bookmarking.

 

Is Organization Preventing You From Starting to Scan Your Photo Collection?

By Curtis Bisel

Are you someone who is just itching to have your entire photo collection converted to digital images on your computer? I mean, you know you want to do it – badly. You know you should be doing it – you can see all of your aging photos over there in a few boxes in the hall closet. But there’s just something holding you back.

I wanna take a guess and say if it’s not a lack of enthusiasm, what you could be experiencing is frustration trying to imagine how you could ever get all of your original prints and negatives chronologically organized and in one place at the same time.

It’s sort of like cooking. For those…(continued at Is Organization Preventing You From Starting to Scan Your Photo Collection?)

4 thoughts on “Is Organization Preventing You From Starting…?|Scan Your Entire Life

  1. Hi Debbie. Thanks for the “shout out” and compliments of my “organization” post (and website in general). I really appreciate that. And I hope your scanning project continues to go well. It’s like solving a huge puzzle, one step at a time. You can do it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Debbi- Do you ever scan the backs of photos to save the writing? If so, what scanner settings do you use? I’m going to use a new Epson V600 Flatbed. Is there any way to do a lower resolution composite “front and back” scan to file with the higher resolution front TIFF image?

    Like

    1. I do scan the backs with writing, however I scan them with the same resolution for time’s sake. I’ve found it’s easier to just flip it over and scan keeping same settings as opposed to having to reset settings then reset back for next image. Takes more hard drive space but when working with so many, the time saved is worth it to me. Hope that helps!

      Like

Comments make me happy!

