Portrait of a Proposal

As I wrap up the final touches on the Gayoso Proposal, I thought I’d publish one more post on the subject. 

One of the many things I’ve been doing lately in preparation for learning to photograph people, is studying other photographers’ work to see what sets them apart. What is the difference between the sites of images that I quickly move past and those that I want to gaze at for long periods of time? The answer for me is, emotion. The ones that grab me and catch my attention are the ones that show emotion and therefore cause me to feel emotion. That is what I want to photograph when photographing people.

Portrait Photography

In looking for a definition of Portrait Photography, I came across this: 

Portrait photography or portraiture is photography of a person or group of people that displays the expression, personality, and mood of the subject. Like other types of portraiture, the focus of the photograph is usually the person’s face, although the entire body and the background or context may be included.

Lifestyle Photography is considered: a style of portrait/people photography which aims to capture and document real-life events, situations, or milestones in an artistic manner and the art of the everyday.

(source: Wikipedia)

That is the difference! Good portrait or lifestyle photography captures emotion. It captures the expression, personality and mood of the subject and documents real-life events, situations or milestones in an artistic manner.

That is what sets their work apart. I hope that as I continue to grow and learn in this area, that I, too, will be one to always capture the emotion of the people in my images.

In going back over the gallery of images from the other evening, I feel I’m off to a good start. There was quite a bit of emotion in the proposal and I can see that in the photos that I captured. Below is a select few of those images.

I see emotion, do you?

(Note: This was shot at Lakeside Park in Dallas. I was hiding in a vehicle parked in the street with a sidewalk between me and the picnic/proposal spot.)


Music: You and I by Michael Buble

3 thoughts on “Portrait of a Proposal

  1. Absolutely I see emotion! These are wonderful. Too bad you couldn’t also be hiding in a submarine in the lake so you could get both of their faces. Looks like a very loving relationship.

    Like

    1. That is very funny Nicole! And yes, would have been wonderful to have done that. My husband would have offered immediately for that position.:D Thank you for the kind words, for stopping by and I’m glad you see it, too! Blessings!

      Like

Comments make me happy!

