Lessons from Love

For those who have followed me for a while, you know that for the last four and a half years I’ve been primarily a fine art/landscape/travel photographer. I’ve always said that I wanted to learn and master all types of photography including experimenting with portrait work. Working with scenery and old ruins are much different from working with people. Processing is a lot different as well.

The last year I have started to dabble in portrait work or at least have had a desire to learn. After a couple of photo shoots with two beautiful families in the fall, that desire increased. The Lord knows my heart and desires and He also knows that sometimes I have to be pushed when approaching an area that is not comfortable. His pushing is gentle and I always have a choice to make, He is not a God that shoves. That gentle pushing led to two shoots this past week that have forced me to practice and learn.

And learn I have! They say that practice makes perfect and Lord knows I’m getting the practice. It will be a while before the perfection part sets in, but I am definitely learning.

As I continue to process the photos from the Proposal the other evening, I am learning so very much. Learning things I should have done differently, things that worked and learning to process living beings as opposed to landscapes and architecture. I’ve already learned so many lessons.

I guess you could say I’m getting lessons from love. 

A few of the images from the Gayoso Proposal.

A few of the images from the Gayoso Proposal.

Comments make me happy!

