This Was On My Mind!

My mind. They say the mind is a terrible thing to waste. I sure don’t waste mine – it is forever turning. Just ask my hubby.

Today is Day Three of the WordPress Challenge: Zero to Hero and we have been given our day’s assignment. I’ve been asked to share what was on my mind when I decided to take this challenge, less than a week ago.

The first thing that came to mind was that I have been quite lazy in my postings on this site and the challenge could be a good way to get back in the habit. I had been so good about regularly posting and then, as I said, nothing short of laziness. So a challenge could be the very thing to assist me in forming the habit. You know it’s true: it takes 21 days to form a habit. This is Day Three. Will I do it? We shall see.

The next thing that came to mind was, “Hey! I’m getting a new camera and I’ll need to practice, practice, practice with it so that all the adjustments and buttons and wheels and knobs and (you get the picture) become second nature. That means more PhotoFrenzies which means more photos to post.

As a result, Sweet Hubby and I took a drive today – seeing it was such a beautiful and warm day. 

Bottom line. To answer the question for the assignment, “What was on your mind when you decided to commit to Zero to Hero?

This was on my mind…

Whitesboro, TX Once was lost (abandoned) and now is found (being restored!)

This is a gorgeous church in Whitesboro. All of the pictures I found online of this 145 year old church showed it abandoned and windows boarded up. Imagine my surprise (and excitement) to see how beautiful it is today and to see it being restored. After returning home, I found this wonderful article about its restoration. 

Sadler United Methodist Church, Sadler, TX

This beautiful white church was another great find on our trip today. A very unique design – looks more like an old house than a church. Just stunning!

Gainesville ISD Transportation Department

A very interesting, old building in Gainesville. Obviously an old school at one time and is now the Gainesville ISD Transportation Department. The tens and tens of bright yellow school buses parked behind the old building confirmed its use. 

Old Victorian-Gothic House, Gainesville, TX

We passed this old house and immediately had to turn around. I had to go back to grab a few photos of it. It was very “eery” yet beautiful. It appeared to be something that could easily be seen in a scary movie. You really need to see it in person to appreciate the details. At first I wasn’t sure it is being lived in, then I noticed the front door. The Christmas wreath gave it away.

I'm a Zero to Hero Blogger!

4 thoughts on “This Was On My Mind!

Comments make me happy!

