Number 1,000 and the One that Started it All

In two months it will have been seven years since I first started blogging. Back in the beginning, I posted a weekly Thought for the Week regarding weight loss. I hadn’t picked up a DSLR yet so there were no photos posted.

I was working hard to lose 80 plus pounds and was sharing my gained knowledge, as I lost weight, with others.

I still do that and I’m still working at losing weight. In all honestly, I’ve put about half of what I lost back on. But that weight is about to go bye-bye because I’m back to doing what I know to do to get it off.

I’ve recently joined a gym because I KNOW for my body to lose unwanted pounds, I MUST work out and work out hard. So in addition to cardio, I also include strength training several times a week. I fully expect by the grace of God and the hard work of Debbi to watch myself shrink in the coming months.

In those seven years I’ve gone through periods of blogging weekly, to daily, to every now and then. That would explain why it has taken me six years and 10 months to finally hit this milestone – number 1,000.

This post is the 1,000th post since it all began in 2006 and what would be more appropriate than reposting the very first one I ever shared? So here it is…

the one that started it all:

I Just Can’t Stress Enough…

…the importance of strength training when needing to lose weight!

If you’ve heard me before, then you’ve heard this before: when it comes to losing weight, you MUST include strength training as a part of your exercise routine! You may have grown up hearing that you shouldn’t use weights or try to build muscle before losing weight or it will cause you to have bulk with the fat. That is simply not true!

Building muscle will actually do just the opposite. It will cause you to burn fat at a higher rate because as you increase muscle, you increase your metabolic rate which causes the body to burn more calories throughout the day. The results are a slimmer body with definition, not flab.

You can add strength training in several ways. Strength or resistance training can be done with weights, resistance bands or tubes, machines or calisthenics. The key is to increase the repetitions and/or weight as you go along. You should work to the point of fatigue to see results. You do not need to spend hours in the gym – a simple effective workout need only last about 30 minutes.

The benefits are numerous! Here are just a few…

  • Increase strength
  • Build bone density
  • Speed up metabolism
  • Build muscle
  • Burn more calories
  • Increase endurance
  • Strengthen core
  • Prevent injuries
  • Increase stability, balance and flexibility
  • Decrease risk of coronary diseases
  • Look and feel better overall
  • The list goes on and on but one thing I must include…

…I can’t stress enough the importance of strength training in reducing stress!! If you don’t already have a regular routine of strength training, I’d like to encourage you to give it a try. Add at least 3 days per week of a minimum of 30 minutes and see if you don’t feel and look better. Make the commitment now and you just may find that your goals come just a little bit quicker than you had thought!

via October | 2006 | Photos and Facets®.

Comments make me happy!

