Steel Magnolias

I’d seen it once…a long, long time ago. I watched it again last night. I didn’t remember much about it. Honestly, I didn’t remember anything about it. The movie, that is.

On our recent trip to New Orleans, at the encouragement of my very good friends, Kris and Lisa, we made a side trip through Natchitoches in Louisiana. They had each recently visited (at different times) and had nothing but good things to say about it. We made it through the area just about lunch time, and after hearing my non-meatpie-eating-friend-when-we-were-in-England talk about how good the meat pies were and how this little town is known for their meat pies (putting aside that all of England is known for meat pies and I couldn’t get her to take even a bite, but enough about that), I figured it would make a good lunch stop.

And boy did it! The meat pies were different from England’s, but very yummy!

Natchitoches is not only known for its meat pies, however. It’s also known as the setting for the 1989 movie that starred Dolly Parton, Julia Roberts, Daryl Hannah, Shirley MacLaine, Sally Field and Olympia Dukakis…Steel Magnolias.

The house that was the home of M’Lynn and Shelby in the movie, was used for interior shooting as well as exterior. It is now a Bed and Breakfast by the same name as the movie.

That movie had some great lines! One that I remember immediately was from Ouiser, Shirley MacLaine’s character. She was a rough ol’ bitty and the line speaks volumes about her character. Her line was, “I’m not crazy. I’ve just been in a very bad mood for the last 40 years!”

Maybe that is why there is not a room in the Bed and Breakfast named for her. There is a room for many of the other main characters, but ol’ Ouiser…well, she was left out of that honor. Wonder why? Perhaps because she’s “not as sweet as she used to be.”

This is the front of the beautiful home. After our lunch and quick drive around town, we needed to head to our destination. Perhaps there will be a weekend in the near future where I can go rest my head in Shelby’s room. Or perhaps Jackson’s.

Yes, I think I will go back again and spend a little more time at the Steel Magnolia House…

 

One thought on “Steel Magnolias

Comments make me happy!

