Honesty, Have Preached, Now Practice

An odd name for the title of a post, I know. However, these are the keywords that I needed to help me remember what I wanted to share. You see, I woke up yesterday morning with these things on my mind, but was not at a point of sitting down to post them. So, I used keywords to help me remember.

Now on to explain their meaning:

I am going to be totally honest with you. (Not that I’m not always – because I am!) I have not posted under the category of No More Weighting in a long time  because I have not been practicing what I’ve preached. I’ve allowed outside influences and challenges over the last couple of years to affect what I’ve done to maintain my weight-loss and therefore, the pounds have increased instead of decreased.

But thankfully, just as His mercies are new every morning (Lamentations 3:22, 23) and His grace is sufficient (2 Corinthians 12:9), I can have a do-over any time I want and that time is NOW! I am back on track and will be sharing my success over the coming months. For those who have not followed me in No More Weighting before, let me give you a little history…

  • Reached a high point in weight the summer of 2004.
  • Made a decision to take action to lose weight in the fall of 2004.
  • Lost weight the RIGHT way of eating and exercise from Sept 2004 to May 2006.
  • Started No More Weighting to help others in the fall of 2006 with the first blog post Thought for the Week.
  • Maintained that loss from May 2006 to July 2009.
  • Faced some issues the fall of 2009 and began to increase slowly thru Holidays of 2011.

Although I have not gained all that I lost, I was definitely headed that way if I didn’t stop, get honest and practice what I’ve preached to others!

The Lord has great things planned in 2012 and I know that! And due to those things I need to be in the best health possible. I have desires to do more, visit more places, photograph more things and being physically fit is a requirement to do all those desires while feeling good.

Why am I sharing this with you? So you can help hold me accountable by asking on occasion how it’s coming along.

I’ve been honest. I have preached. Now it’s time for me to practice! 

This I recall to my mind,
Therefore I have hope.
Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed,
Because His compassions fail not.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
“ The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
“ Therefore I hope in Him!”  Lamentations 3:21-24
2 thoughts on “Honesty, Have Preached, Now Practice

  1. Good luck Debbi! I know how hard it can be to keep on track, especially when life throws you curve balls. I’m on a new regimen myself, for a race I’m doing later this year. I’m looking forward to reading about your journey!

    Like

Comments make me happy!

