Am I Old School?

I don’t need to ask you that question because I know the answer and the answer is YES! And I don’t have a problem with it.

Now, what is bringing about this question? The fact that I’m sitting here, watching network television and the commercials that show up in between. (Remember commercials?) As I recently voiced, I’m disgusted with how commercials are promoting family destruction. It isn’t bad enough the programs that air during primetime television are full of sex, nudity and innuendoes, but now the commercials are just CRAP! Yep, I said it. CRAP!

And why am I bringing this up again? Well…because I just saw another commercial and now I’m confused! Is it just me? Do parents REALLY allow their children to run the household? Have parents lost their God-given ability to say, “no” and follow through? Is discipline really a thing of the past? Here’s what I just watched and maybe you’ve seen it, too:

The opening scene is of a little boy about six standing on a stairway dressed in a full costume of a creature, super hero or something. You don’t see the parents, but hear them telling him to take off the costume so they can go out to eat. The little boy says, “I’m not taking it off!”. The parents once again say, “Take it off or we will not be going out to for dinner.” The little boy once again (with a stronger tone) repeats, ” I AM NOT TAKING IT OFF!”. The next shot is a photo of a frozen dinner. This message portrays: because the little five or six-year-old does not want to take off his costume the parents give in and let him have his way. They change their plans to suit the rebellion of the child.

What happened to the days when parents were parents? Do children REALLY rule the roost these days? Where is dad’s authority? What about mom’s? When my son was that age, if he had talked to me disrespectfully like that, well let’s just say he would not have gotten away with it and we MOST DEFINITELY would not have changed our plans as a result.

Do parents today really allow their children to make the decisions for adults? Decisions that rule the home? REALLY? I’m just curious.

I am old school, I admit. I realize that to punish children in this day and age is considered politically incorrect – however, I do believe the Bible. The Word of God makes it pretty plain!

So…I’d like to hear your thoughts. Is anyone else with me?

Foolishness is bound in the heart of a child; but the rod of correction shall drive it far from him. Proverbs 22:15 NKJV

He who spares his rod [of discipline] hates his son, but he who loves him disciplines diligently and punishes him early. Proverbs 13:24 Amplified

Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. Ephesians 6:1 NKJV

Children, obey your parents in all things, for this is well pleasing to the Lord.  Colossians 3:20 NKJV

Don’t be afraid to correct your young ones; a spanking won’t kill them. A good spanking, in fact, might save them from something worse than death. Proverbs 23:13, 14 The Message

One thought on “Am I Old School?

  1. I am with you 250%! Why is it that if a parent spanks a child in public…not beat, but spank…it is considered child abuse, but yet when there are known true child abusers out there they get away with it until the child ends up dead??? Just watch around you when you are shopping at how children rule their parents! I too am very old school and I believe what God says in His Word regarding raising a child! You are living proof of it! 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy!

