Vision

If you can’t tell, I’m having a blast playing with textures in my photography these days. Today’s photo is no exception.

Over the weekend, Sweet Hubby and I decided to take a drive to the DFW Airport. They have a wonderful park area called Founders Plaza where you can not only sit and watch planes take off and land, but can also listen to the control tower’s radio. It is quite interesting to hear the control tower and pilots communicating and then watch them do what is directed.

We had decided to go there so that I could take some photos to fulfill my Google+ Hobby Photographer Group’s weekly assignment. This past week’s theme was Speed. My hope was to practice taking action photos that would show the speed of the planes. What I learned is that I have MUCH to learn. It was morning and we were facing the east. I couldn’t get my shutter speed slow enough without blowing out the exposure so I decided to hang up that idea and just have fun shooting things around me.

Saturday’s post was the photo that I submitted for the weekly theme. I called it simply, Speed of Flight. There was a little creative merging done using Photoshop in order to get the airport in the framing of that big airliner. Yesterday’s photo was one taken at the Founders Plaza. It is a beautiful life-sized sculpture of children playing airplane. This park is perfect for children of all ages and all ages were certainly visiting on Saturday morning. From little toddlers crying because they wanted to “wide on awoplanes” to big kids (Sweet Hubby) making the bold statement, “I could stay here all day!”

Today’s shot is one that I captured as we were about to leave. They have a number of telescopes around for the purpose of viewing the planes up-close-and-personal, whether they are on the ground or in the sky. Today’s photo is one of them.

I began Kim Klassen’s Photoshop Skinny-Mini eCourse Workshop yesterday. Although much of what she covered I was familiar with, I DID learn some tips that I believe are very beneficial and will continue with it the next couple of weeks. I decided to do everything step-by-step just as she demonstrates (although I added a texture or two and she hasn’t taken us there yet.)

If you are interested in signing up for her workshop, here are a few things that you may like to know…

  1. It’s FREE! – I LOVE free! Can’t beat it.
  2. You can join in whenever you like as she does them by videos she posts on her site (you will need a login to view them, so you will need to register.) You can take the class in your jammies if you prefer – any time that is convenient for you.
  3. It took me maybe 15 minutes to watch and read the entire first class. It was short, sweet and to the point.
  4. If you don’t own a Photoshop program, she includes a link for a free trial download.
  5. You can sign up now. Just go HERE.
If you are not familiar with Photoshop, you will learn the basics to get you going in the right direction. If you are familiar, I’m sure you will learn some tips and shortcuts that will help you to expand even more. I learned quite a few in that first class and looking forward to the ones in the future!
Here is my first exercise from the workshop that I’ve titled: Vision! 
Let me know what your experience is in working with Photoshop and textures. I’d like to hear! 
One thought on “Vision

Comments make me happy!

