Do Not Follow the Directions!

This sad photo was taken with my iPhone yesterday afternoon.

We had dinner with our very special friends recently, and she served a yummy, light and delish (and easy) cake that isn’t too bad for the waistline. I asked for the recipe. And I received it.

It’s very simple…here it is:

– 1 Box of Angel Food Cake Mix

– 1 Can of crushed pineapple in its juice.

Mix the pineapple and juice into the dry cake mix and bake for 30 minutes at 350°. (Do not follow the directions on the box.)

Easy enough! Even I can do that. (Or so I thought!)

The box did specifically say to NOT grease the pan. And I didn’t.

I put the cake in the ungreased (but non-stick) bundt pan, set it in the preheated oven which was 350° and set the timer for 30 minutes.

30 minutes later, the timer goes off, the cake has a nice golden color to it and I bring it out of the oven to set on the cooling rack. The directions on the box did say to turn upside down and set on a glass bottle if using a bundt pan. I did not have a glass bottle so figured I’d just turn it upside down on the cooling rack.

Son was home for the weekend and we were busy chatting as I was doing the above steps. I turn the cake away from me and onto the rack when Son’s eyes got really big! The cake was POURING out onto the rack. Umm, obviously my oven is a little cooler than hers.

So what did I do? I spooned it up and put the mess back into the pan and stuck it back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes.

This is what it looked like when it came back out…

 

Now I will say this…it tastes delicious! But it sure didn’t look pretty.

And oh, I should have greased the pan as I had to spoon the cooked cake out into bowls to eat rather than slice it and serve on plates. All because…

I followed the directions.

One thought on “Do Not Follow the Directions!

Comments make me happy!

