August 2011 – Reflecting on the Past Year

Today is August 1, 2011. What is significant about that date? Well, August 2011 marks the one year anniversary of the first few steps we took in obedience to sell the home we had built and planned to live in the rest of our lives.

One year ago this week, I heard the Lord direct us to sell our home. Sweet Hubby was working at a convention and I was not able to mention anything about it until the end of the first week. But once we discussed it, we both knew it was the thing to do and the process began. What an adventure that lay ahead of us! (If you are just coming across my blog and haven’t read about it, you can start here.)

In reflecting on the results of that decision I can say without doubt that it was so worth everything we went through, the feelings of living almost an entire year in a state of unsettlement. It was a great lesson on trust. Trusting ourselves to hear the voice of God and trusting Him to direct us in the steps to take.

Trust is different from faith. Faith is believing that the Lord can carry you through anything. Trust is letting Him do it.

Now that we are on this side, it is apparent that making that decision and following through brought about a HUGE blessing! We are happier than I could have imagined being. We have such freedom – we truly crossed over into liberty! Our house is not just a structure but it’s our home! This is where we are supposed to be!

I’ve been thinking about B and D lately and wondering if they feel the same way about their new home. (They are the sellers of our current home and the buyers of our previous. As I said, if you are just now joining me, you will want to go back and read the story in the link above – trust me!)

God is good! He knows what He is doing! We have to know, too. And when we do and allow Him to lead and guide us, when we are obedient to His will and trust Him, blessings abound!

In my reflecting on the last year I will tell you that change has come and change is WONDERFUL! If there is only one thing you get out of today’s post, I hope it is an encouragement to trust God. I promise  you, you will be glad you did!

2 thoughts on “August 2011 – Reflecting on the Past Year

Comments make me happy!

