Bluebonnet Trails

The last couple of PhotoFrenzies were to yet another treasure that has been sitting “right in my own backyard”, but didn’t know it. It still amazes me that I’ve lived in north Texas almost my entire life and there are so many treasures within an arm’s reach that I’ve been completely unaware of until picking up my DSLR for the first time last fall. This week’s discovery was of an annual event that takes place in Ennis, just a short hour’s drive from my home. It is the annual Ennis Bluebonnet Trail which runs April 1-30 each year. There is also an Ennis Bluebonnet Festival that takes place each spring in mid April. According to their website, in 1997 Ennis was designated the Official Bluebonnet City of Texas.


While searching for the best places to spot Texas Wildflowers recently, I stumbled across the information of the Bluebonnet Trails. I was looking for areas down in the Hill Country of our great Lone Star State, as that is where you hear about the wildflowers blooming the best. Little did I know that the Official Bluebonnet City was so close to me. Like I said…I have treasures all around me and ones that I would not have known about if it weren’t for this wonderful hobby I’ve picked up!

When my BFF and I were deciding where to go for our last PhotoFrenzy, we decided to check out the Trails. So off we went! It was a beautiful day and a nice drive that landed us in downtown Ennis late morning. We decided to stop by the Visitors Center and pick up a map of the trails, since I carelessly did not print one off the computer like I had planned. The very sweet lady who assisted us, marked the very best trail for us to take to see the flowers in their prime. Following the trail meant weaving our way down small country roads that were not heavy in traffic. Good thing because after all, we are Photogs…we brake for anything. I can’t tell how many times I’ve asked, “Uh, can you back up, please?”

It didn’t take long and the beauties were showing themselves. Everywhere you would look there would be fields and rolling hills of nothing but beautiful color made up by different types of flowers. Bluebonnets galore as well as Indian Paintbrushes and Yellow Dandelions. Buttercups would pop up every now and then as well as Winecups. Along the drive were other picture worthy subjects. Such as Longhorn steer and…oh…the chair!


The sights were so beautiful that over the weekend, I had to take my sweet husband to experience the trails as well. After all, you can’t do it just any time of the year. And as usual, a weekend drive with David means a weekend drive with our little girl. Lucy loves Bluebonnets!


Until next time…

Let Your Light Shine,
Debbi
Comments make me happy!

