Thank You and The Boys’ Home on North Shore

To all my faithful readers – those who have been with me for a while, let me just say, “Thank you!” Thank you for hanging with me even when I seem to be all over the place.

The past three months have been a dream come true for me. I recently heard someone preaching a message on how the Lord had told them that 2012 is The Year of Fulfillment. I can tell you quite honestly that just a few days before I heard that message, as I was sharing with some friends about my recent experiences, I used those exact words. I told them, “It’s as if this is my year of fulfillment. The year that things are coming to fruition.”

And that is exactly how I feel. I’ve been to London, France, a cruise to Cozumel and Hawaii all within an eight week period. I LOVE to travel and haven’t had the opportunity to do very much of it the last several years, so this summer has been a dream come true for me. And I just know it’s only the beginning!

With that said, I want to thank you for sticking with me as I post from one place to another. I realize that one day I might share something from England and the next it could be from Fort Worth, then from Hawaii and the next from Paris…and so on. (I guess as the old saying goes, variety is the spice of life – right?)

Today I’m back in Hawaii. Tomorrow? Who knows!

As we were driving around the island of Oahu, we drove past a structure in ruins. If you know me, you know I SO ENJOY finding old structures that are abandoned, in ruins, barely standing, etc. I am in awe of the stories they could tell.

As soon as it caught our eyes, it was one of those “gotta go shoot it” moments. My wonderful friends knowing how I am, gladly chauffeured me to the old building, dropped me off to take a few shots as they turned the car around and picked me back up and away we went. We were there very briefly but long enough to satisfy my desire to photograph the old building.

The sign on the property read, Crawford’s Convalescent Home. After returning home, I did a little digging. And yes, Crawford’s Convalescent Home is on the property. But the old shell of a building that caught our attention is what was the old Waiale’e Boys’ Industrial School that was established around 1906. It was a home for boys that had been convicted of anything from assault and battery to disobeying parents and located on the North Shore sitting on Kamehameha Highway in Haleiwa.

I’d love to go back again and spend a little more time walking around the old building. It’s definitely a stop I will take when I return in the future. For now, these will do.

Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. jane

    I love these photos! Ominous!

    July 12, 2012 at 5:10 pm

  2. Stafford-Ames Morse

    Waialee was my home from 1939-1947. sorry the boys were moved. Have photos of the past. anyone who lived there, drop me a line.
    Mahalo
    Stafford-Ames Morse

    August 3, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Comments make me happy!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 453 other followers